subglobal1 link | subglobal1 link | subglobal1 link | subglobal1 link | subglobal1 link | subglobal1 link | subglobal1 link
Owosso Hours | Owosso Map
Durand Hours | Durand Map
Alta Vista | Ask Jeeves | Excite | Go.com | Google | Hotbot | Lycos | Yahoo Search

Databases

Please Note: If you are coming in from the web at home or outside the Library, many of these titles will require a password. A few resources are available only from within the library, and these titles are so noted . Some of these resources's are available courtesy of the Michigan eLibrary (MeL),and are so marked with a   Michigan eLibrary Logo. These databases are also available through MeL's site with a Michigan ID card or driver's license.


Academic Search Complete button
MeL Logo

Academic Search Complete

Designed for academic institutions. Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research. Coverage on a wide range of topics. Includes peer-reviewed full text resources for STEM research. Social sciences and the humanities also covered.


 

Agricola button
MeL Logo

Agricola

From the National Agricultural Library. Contains citations about all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Includes: journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports. Coverage: 1970 - current.


 

Alt Health Watch button
MeL Logo

Alt Health Watch

Provides information on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness. Sources include journals (some peer-reviewed) and reports.


 

Ancestry Library Edition Logo
Only Available in the Library

Ancestry Library Edition

 Ancestry Library Edition has a new, simplified search screen and contains the following enhancements not previously available in MeL: Passenger lists from all major U.S. ports including New York, San Francisco, Boston, Philadelphia, Baltimore and New Orleans; Naturalization records ranging from 1700 to 1900; Immigration records for more than 100 countries Increase of more than 10 million names; an improved viewer for documents. 


Applied Science & Technology button
MeL Logo

Applied Science & Technology Source

Broad coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines. Content derives from leading trade journals, professional and technical society publications, and conference proceedings.


Art and Architecture Source button
MeL Logo


Art & Architecture Source

Covers fine, decorative, and commercial arts. Also covers architecture and architectural design. Features full text articles and indexing and abstracts for journals, books, podcasts, and more. Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. For use by art scholars, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.


 

Associates Programs Source
MeL Logo

Associates Programs Source

Articles on topics often taught in community colleges. Topics include: accounting, agriculture, child care, cosmetology, cooking, food service, forestry, graphic arts, hospitality management, interior design, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, and welding.


 

A to Z Databases button
MeL Logo

AtoZ Databases

Detailed information on 30 million businesses and executives and 2 million new businesses. Includes data on over 200 million residents as well as new movers/homeowners. Special features include a background and criminal history search. Information provided on U. S. healthcare professionals. Includes a jobs database and email marketing.


 

AutoMate button
MeL Logo

AutoMate

Repair information and schedules, diagrams, parts and labor estimates, service alerts, and recalls. Covers thousands of domestic and imported vehicles.


 

Biography Reference Center Button
MeL Logo

Biography Reference Center

More than 450,000 biographies. Includes complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine as well as thousands of narrative biographies.


 

Britannica School Edition button
MeL Logo

Britannica School

Elementary, Middle, and High. School Levels. Each contains resources at the appropriate learning and skill level including primary sources in subjects such as people, countries, science, animals, current events, and biographies.

 


Britannica Learning Zone button
MeL Logo

Brittanica School--Learning Zone

Pre K - 2nd grade. Activity-centered learning to explore, play, read, and build technology skills.Letters, numbers, geography, shapes and much more are included. 


 


Buisiness Book Summaries button
MeL Logo

Business Book Summaries

Concise yet comprehensive summaries to help professionals and students keep up with the latest information in the business world. A wide range of topics is covered including business biographies, change management, communication, entrepreneurship, leadership, marketing, personal growth, productivity and technology.


Carribean Search button
vMeL Logo

Carribbean Search

Full-text content pertaining to the countries and people of the Caribbean. Created in conjunction with Caribbean librarians and researchers.



Central and Eastern European Academic Source buttonMeL Logo

Central & Eastern European Academic Source

Multidisciplinary and multilingual resource covering a variety of subject areas including history, business and law.


Consumer Health Complete button
MeL Logo

Consumer Health Complete

Supports the health and wellness information needs of patients. Covers mainstream medicine as well as complementary and holistic medicine.


 

Consumer Health Information button
MeL Logo

Consumer Health Information

Offers detailed answers to the 200 most-commonly-asked health questions. Provides answers in evidence-based reports that feature illustrations and easy-to-read text.


 

Consumer Reports button
MeL Logo

Consumer Reports

Provides clear reviews of commonly purchased products. Consumer Reports uses careful research, consumer insights, journalism, and policy expertise to help you inform purchase decisions. Also works to improve the products and services that businesses deliver, and drive regulatory and fair competitive practices.


Contemporary Authors Logo

Contemporary Authors

Biographical and other information about modern authors and their works


Credo Reference Logo

(Remote access available through the library's catalog)

Credo Reference

Wide variety of information from encyclopedias, dictionariesbiographies, quotations, and bilingual dictionaries. Also includes measurement conversions, art work, other illustrations, and more.



Demographics Now logo
MeL Logo

DemographicsNow: Business & People

Researchers and entrepreneurs are provided with comprehensive business and demographic information valuable to assess business viability, create sales leads and marketing mailing lists, complete location analyses and business plans, analyze population trends, find potential sponsors and donors and much more. This versatile database is useful for those who want to start a business as well as those who want to take their established business to the next level.


Early World of Learning logo
MeL Logo

Early World of Learning

Grades PreK-3. Follow Trek and Taffy the cat around the world. Share their love of colors, numbers, and other fun things. Come inside for stories and pictures.


 

Ebsco eBooks Academic Collection logo
MeL Logo

eBook Academic Collection

Thousands of titles ranging from literary criticism to health, mathematics, sports, and religion. You may access the full text of these eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.


 

eBook Business Collection logo
MeL Logo

eBook Business Collection


A key resource for academic and business school libraries. You may access the full text of these eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.


 

Ebsco eBooks High School Collection logo
MeL Logo

e-Book High School Collection

For high school students and educators. There is a selection of teacher resources and titles align with Common Core Curriculum Standards. You may access the full text of these eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.



Ebsco eBook K-8 Collection logo
MeL Logo


eBook K-8 Collection

Fiction and nonfiction books you can read online - for school and for fun.  Search for what you want.  Picture books, homework topics, languages learning.


Ebsco eBooks Public Library Collection logo
MeL Logo

eBook Public Library Collection

Large collection of reference books featuring titles for both adults and kids. Covers a wide variety of topics from self-help and fitness to cooking and personal finance. You may access the full text of these eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.


 

Education Source logo

MeL Logo

Education Source

Provides scholarly research for education students, professionals, and policy makers. Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. Covers specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.


 

Enciclopedia Esudianti Hallazgos logo
MeL Logo

Enciclopedia Estudianti Hallazgos

Designed for young Spanish speaking students or those learning Spanish as a second language. Full text articles, maps, flags, and more. Dozens of hands-on activities and links to Spanish language websites. Also includes a visual dictionary.


 

Entrepeneurial Studies Source logo
MeL Logo

Entrepeneurial Studies Source

Resource for business students and researchers. It provides insights on entrepreneurship and small businesses topics. Offers full text business journals, magazines, reference books, case studies, and company profiles.


 

Environment Complete logo
MeL Logo

Environment Complete

Scholarly, academic coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and related areas.


 


Eric logo
MeL Logo

Eric (free version)

Recommended for:  Educators, pre-service teachers and parents. Abstracts and/or Full-text.  Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.  ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials such as conference papers, technical reports, policy papers and more.


Explora for Educators logo
MeL Logo

Explora for Educators

A teacher’s companion to the various Explora databases, searching across content such as ERIC and Academic Search Premier. It highlights lessons plans, curriculum standards, and other professional development resources..



Explora for High Schools logo
MeL Logo

Explora for High Schools

Provides hundreds of popular magazines and reference books for high school libraries. Covers subjects such as art, history, sports, and music. Includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents. Also includes photos, maps, and flags.


Explora for Middle Schools logo
MeL Logo

Explora for Middle Schools

Magazines and reference books for middle school students. Includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents. Subjects include history, current events, science, sports, and biographies. Also includes photos, maps, and flags.


 

Explora for Primary Schools logo
MeL Logo

Explora for Primary Schools

For elementary school libraries. Content from children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedia entries, and images. Students can learn about animals, musicians, fitness, space exploration, and much more.


 

Explora for Public Libraries logo
MeL Logo

Explora for Public Libraries

Arts, biography, business, current events, geography and culture, health, history and social science, science and math.


 

Grant Station logo

Only Available in the Library

Grant Station

Tips on grantwriting and a searchable database of funding sources. Only available at the Owosso Branch.


 

Grolier Online Logo
(Remote access available through the library's catalog)

Grolier's On-line Encyclopedia

New Book of Knowledge, Grolier Multimedia, Encyclopedia Americana, and America the Beautiful


Health Source Consumer Edition logo
MeL Logo

Health Source--Consumer Edition

Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health, and more. Information comes from magazines, books, Clinical Reference System reports, and pamphlets.


Health Source Nursing Academic Edition logo
MeL Logo

Health Source--Nursing/Academic Edition

Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines. Provides indexing, abstracts and full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.


History Reference Center Logo
MeL Logo

History Reference Center

Documents, photos, maps, film, and video from leading history journals. Also includes biographies of historical figures. 


Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center logo
MeL Logo

Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center

Subject areas include arts & crafts; games & electronics; models; needlework; outdoors & nature; and scrapbooking & paper craft.

 


 

Home Improvement Reference Center logo
MeL Logo

Home Improvement Reference Center

Includes maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating, home & garden, etc. Includes more than 130 reference books.


Humanities Source Logo
MeL Logo

Humanities Source

Covers literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Ideal for students, researchers, and educators interested in the humanities.


Jewish Studies Source Logo
MeL Logo

Jewish Studies Source

Offers a multidisciplinary view of the study of Jewish civilization, from its historical origins to the present. Nearly 350 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jewish figures.


Lawcheck Logo
Only Available in the Library

Lawchek

Legal forms, glossary, and other information


Learning Express Library logo
MeL Logo

LearningExpress Library

An online learning platform of academic and licensing/certification practice tests, and elementary level testing for math and reading. A free user account to login to the Learning centers must be created. Includes a section that takes users from job assessment to success on the job. Learning Centers offer the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you, including a Job & Career Accelerator. A tutorial course series designed to help all learners succeed on the tests they must pass includes immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of practice test results.


Legal Information Reference Center logo
MeL Logo

Legal Information Reference Center

Search over 12,800 state-specific legal forms by topic including Adoption, Bankruptcy, Name Changes, and more. A majority of the full text legal reference books provided through NOLO. 



Legal Source logo
MeL Logo

Legal Source

A scholarly resource of current issues, studies, and trends of the legal world. For attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, and paralegals.


 

Library and Information Science Source logo
MeL Logo

Library & Information Science Source

Journals and periodicals that help librarians and researchers keep pace with the latest trends in the field.


 

Lit Finder Logo

LitFinder

Online poetry & short story reference center including the full text of 70,000 poems. 


Literary Reference Center logo
MeL Logo

Literary Reference Center

Includes over 14,000 short stories and 54,000+ poems. Covers information on thousands of authors and their works. Topics include: plot summaries, literary criticism, book reviews, novels, and author interviews. 


 

Making of Modern Michigan logo

Making of Modern Michigan

The Making of Modern Michigan is a collaborative project involving 52 Michigan libraries. It includes local history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through over 4,500 different subjects of photographs, family papers, oral histories, genealogical materials, and much more.


MAS Complete logo
MeL Logo

MAS Complete

Designed for high school libraries and offers coverage of popular high school magazines and reference books. Wide range of subjects offered including art, history, sports and music. Over 1,000,000 photos, maps and flags.


 

Master File logo
MeL Logo

MasterFile

Broad collection of popular full-text magazines and reference books. Contains Consumer Reports. Covers subjects including: business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY, and fashion. Also includes photos, maps, and flags.


 

Medline Plus logo

MedlinePlus (free version)

Recommended for: Patients and health professionals. Some full text. Covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing. From the National Library of Medicine.


 

MeL Logo

MeLCat

Order books, audio books, music, movies and other materials from other Michigan libraries and have them delivered to your participating library


Michigan Authors and Illustrators logo
MeL Logo

Michigan Authors and Illustrators

A searcheable database of Michigan authors and illustrators. Provides biographical and contact information.


Middle Search Plus logo
MeL Logo

Middle Search Plus

Middle school magazines and reference books including thousands of biographies, primary source documents, over a million photos, maps and flags. Subjects covered include history, current events, science, sports and biographies..


Mitchell On Demand Logo
Only Available in the Library

Mitchell 1O Demand

Car repair information including wiring diagrams. (Internet Explorer must be used as the browser).  Only available at the Owosso Branch.


 

My Heritage logo
MeL Logo

My Heritage Library Edition

Family history resource including more than 6 billion historical ​records from the United States, Europe, Latin America, and other regions. Includes the full USA federal census (1790-1940); census of England and Wales (1841-1901); U.S. World War II Army Enlistment as well as records of Union and Confederate Civil War soldiers. Over 2 billion family trees.


 

Newspaper Plus logo
MeL Logo

Newspaper Source Plus

Includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires, and news magazines. Offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. Primary full coverage newspapers are The Washington Post and USA Today.


NoveList K-8 Logo
MeL Logo

NoveList K-8 Plus

Find just the right book by subject, age, awards won, books made into movies, and much more. Read reviews and learn about the author. Create your own reading wish list. Includes tools for teachers such as Lexile levels and Common Core standards. 


NoveList Plus logo
MeL Logo

NoveList Plus

Contains information on over 260,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles. Features lists of award-winning books, book discussion guides, Read-a-Like recommendations, and complete series information. Also includes reader ratings and reviews. Create your own reading wish list.


Opposing Viewpoints in Context logo
MeL Logo

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Provides different views about issues that help students develop critical thinking skills. This resource brings balance and perspective to contemporary issues using arguments from experts. 


Poetry and Short Story Reference Center logo
MeL Logo

Poetry & Short Story Reference Center

Hundreds of thousands of poems, as well as short stories, biographies, and essays. Topics include the poetic forms, movements, and techniques.


 

Points of View Reference Center logo
MeL Logo

Points of View

Presents multiple sides of over 400 issues. Helps students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills. 


 

Political Science Complete logo
MeL Logo

Politcal Science Complete

Designed for students, researchers, and government institutions. Covers political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of current discourse.


 

Primary Search logo
MeL Logo

Primary Search

Children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedia entries, and an image collection designed for elementary school libraries.


 

Professional Development Collection logo
MeL Logo

Professional Development Collection

Specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.


 

Psychology and Behavorial Sciences Collection logo
MeL Logo

Psychology & Behavorial Sciences Collection

Covers a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences, and related disciplines. For psychologists, counselors, researchers, and students.


Read It logo
MeL Logo

Read It

For middle and high school students and adults. Helps to build reading skills and improve study habits. Includes tests.


 

Referencia Latina logo
MeL Logo

Referencia Latina

Spanish-language resource. Covers academic and non-academic subjects. Offers content from reference books, general interest magazines, health reports, and other sources. Daily updates from a dozen newspapers from ten Latin American countries and more than 2,500 health reports.


 

Regional Business News logo
MeL Logo

Regional Business News

Regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces from 1990. Includes newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines, and newswires.


 

Rocket Languages logo  

Rocket Languages

Foreign language instruction for Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Hindi, Ingles, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Sign Language, and Spanish.


Science Reference Center logo
MeL Logo

Science Reference Center

Contains material from science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. More than 4,000 full text, full-length biographies. Includes: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, the environment, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, and wildlife. 


 

Small Business Reference  Center logo
MeL Logo

Small Business Reference Center

Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business. Includes information on accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. State-specific information included.


Small Engine Repair Reference Center logo
MeL Logo

Small Engine Repair Reference Center

Repair guides for small engines and routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service, etc.). Also includes guides on extensive repairs such as engine and transmission disassembly. Coverage includes lawn mowers, motorcycles, tractors, and snowmobiles. More than 450 full text reference books with photos and illustrations, information on more than 25 years of engine models, and coverage of more than 90,000 repairs.


 

Tumblebooks Logo

TumbleBook Library

The TumbleBook Library is a collection of TumbleBooks (animated, talking picture books) and TumblePuzzles. TumbleBooks are created from existing picture books which have been licensed from children's book publishers and converted to the TumbleBook format.


Turfgrass logo
MeL Logo

Turfgrass Information File (TGIF)

This link takes you to the Michigan eLibrary Database page. Scroll down to Turfgrass Information File. Some full text. In the 1960s, the Michigan State University (MSU) Library began to collect printed turfgrass materials. In 1968, the personal collection of the late O.J. Noer, pioneer turf agronomist, was added to the library holdings through the O.J. Noer Foundation. Today, the combined collection is recognized as the most extensive public collection of turfgrass material in existence.

Between 1983 and 1992, the United States Golf Association (USGA) Turfgrass Research Program supported the development of the USGA Turfgrass Information File (TGIF). Using the Noer Collection as a foundation, TGIF was designed to systematically inventory published turf research and make the bibliographic information available via a computerized database


Vocation Studies Premier logo
MeL Logo

Vocational Studies Premier

Designed for two-year colleges, this resource offers support for vocational programs. Subjects include: counseling, biotechnology, cosmetology, fashion design, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, law enforcement, and veterinary assistant.


 

World Book Kids logo
MeL Logo

World Book Kids

Grades Pre K - 5. Easy-to-read content for elementary school learners. Hundreds of activities, science projects and experiments.


 

World Book Encyclopedia Online Reference Center logo

World Book Encyclopedia

Highlights of World Book Online include:

  • Accurate, authoritative, easy to read articles from The World Book Encyclopedia.
  • Related articles from major newspapers and magazines.
  • Extensive graphic and multimedia enhancements, including photographs, maps, illustrations, tables, animations, and audio/video clips.
  • Special Reports that broaden and deepen coverage for selected topics.
  • The World Book Online Info Finder, World Book Online Reference Center, World Book Discover, and the Spanish-language Encyclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

WorldCat log

WorldCat (free version)

WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. WorldCat.org lets you find an item of interest and then locate a library near you that owns it.

Questions and comments regarding this site should be sent to info@sdl.lib.mi.us.
Staff Access | ©2007 Shiawassee District Library